A Brownie Outing

My first outing with the fifty plus year old Brownie 127 camera.

Following on from my nostalgic eBay win of a Brownie 127 Camera Outfit, as reported in my previous post A nostalgic find on eBay, the natural thing to do was load it with film and get out to take some photographs.

It so happened that the Edinburgh Lo-fi Photography Group, of which I am a member, had arranged a timely meetup for a wee jaunt along the Fife Coastal Path between Dysart and West Wemyss last weekend. What could be more lo-fi than a Brownie 127 camera? I took the Brownie with two rolls of Rera Pan 100-127 film and my Intrepid with six sheets of Fomapan 100 just for a bit of alternative interest.

The snaps taken with the Brownie came out rather well in my opinion, with just the one (accidental) double exposure!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Intrepid didn’t do too badly either but I messed up one sheet, due to forgetting to replace the dark slide after taking the shot. Oops! The ultra-cool Autoknips mechanical timer release that I also found on eBay got a wee outing too and performed magnificently for the group shots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 The Techy Stuff

On my return home I discovered that I had only just enough Ilfosol 3 developer to process the two 127 rolls and the six 5×4 sheets.

The Brownie is just a simple point and shoot camera with no settings to worry about as long as the light is good and bright. The day started bright and sunny but increased cloud cover as the day progressed reduced the light level considerably but I carried on taking pictures regardless, not knowing how the film would perform. The Rera Pan 100-127 is quite new on the market, produced by a Japanese manufacturer. There is little information available as a guide to developing times and none that I could find for Ilfosol 3, the only developer I had available! However by comparing the little information I could find for Rera Pan and comparing it with information available for other film/developer combinations, I eventually settled on 6 minutes at 20C in 1+9 dilution. The results are OK but I think I’d like to have a bit more ‘punch’ to them so I will probably make changes next time.

To give a wee contrast boost and to make the most of the clouds, I used a yellow filter on the Intrepid and consequently made a one-stop exposure correction on each shot. Developing the Fomapan was quite straightforward in Ilfosol 3, diluted 1+9 for 5 minutes 30 seconds at 20C using a MOD54 in a Paterson tank. The results are pretty much as I expected.

Author: Donald Tainsh

A lifelong explorer of photography

Leave a Reply

